wins first place at ACP Convention

Back to News and Events Home Page wins first place at ACP Convention and three students place individually

Published: February 21, 2014.

Lewis University’s online edition of The Flyer ( won first place in the “Best in Show” contest at the 23nd Annual Associated Collegiate Press Best of the Midwest College Journalism Convention held Feb. 7-9 in Minneapolis. Other members of Lewis University student media, The Flyer print edition staff members also took home awards.

“It’s really exciting that the online staff placed first again this year in the Publication Website category. I’m proud to see them being recognized for their hard work,” commented Ben Eveloff, assistant professor of communications at Lewis University and adviser of the

Several individual awards were earned by Lewis University students. Lauren Barnes, the opinions editor at The Flyer received as second place award in the Feature Story category and Kendra Mills, layout editor at The Flyer, earned a fifth place award in the Single Page Design category. Additionally, Adam Smetana, the social media manager at, received the second place award in the Multimedia Package category.

“The contest was very competitive this year,” Lisa O’Toole, faculty adviser of the print edition, said. "Our students placed their work next to the efforts of dozens of other editors from universities throughout the Midwest, and were recognized by professional journalists.”

Current staff members of the Online Flyer include Dave Hansen, editor-in-chief, Andrea Earnest, assistant online editor, Adam Smetana, social media manager, Will Hoffman, special projects editor and, Tyler Jankowski photo editor.

Staff members for the print edition of The Flyer include Ross Reed, print editor-in-chief, Alex Veneman, news editor, David Ridderhoff, assistant news editor, Lauren Grady, tempo editor, Roslyn Summerville, assistant tempo editor, Lauren Barnes, opinions editor, Stephanie Lipinski, health editor, Theresa Marten, religion editor, Brian Neal, sports editor, Nicole Kappelman, assistant sports editor, Saule Grybauskas, copy editor, Melissa Carrington, copy editor, Kendra Mills, layout editor, Audrey Heiberger, layout editor, Nicole Krage, layout editor and advertising manager, Ashley Chaplin, public relations editor, Lisa O’Toole, assistant professor of communications and adviser of the print edition of The Flyer.

The Best of the Midwest Convention is a gathering of college news journalists and advisers working with print and online media. The convention offers attendees practical learning sessions led by media professionals, problem-solving discussions and networking opportunities. Other convention activities include ACP’s Best of Show contest for general excellence, Best of the Midwest individual contests and critiques of student news media.

Lewis University is a Catholic university offering distinctive undergraduate and graduate programs to more than 6,500 traditional and adult students. Lewis offers multiple campus locations, online degree programs, and a variety of formats that provide accessibility and convenience to a growing student population. Sponsored by the De La Salle Christian Brothers, Lewis prepares intellectually engaged, ethically grounded, globally connected and socially responsible graduates. The seventh largest private not-for-profit university in Illinois, Lewis has been nationally recognized by The Princeton Review and U.S. News & World Report. Visit for further information.

Related Links
Alumni    Department of Communications   

Social Media

Follow Lewis University


Leave a Comment

Comments submitted to are posted to the News and Events article with name that is submitted. Lewis University reserves the right to delete comments. Offensive language, personal attacks or irrelevant comments may be deleted/and or not posted. Comments will not appear immediately. Thank you for your patience.



Security Password (Please type the word ):


To News & Events