Trophy ceremony for national aviation award is Thursday

Back to News and Events Home Page

Trophy ceremony for national aviation award is Thursday

Published: September 24, 2013.

Lewis University Flight Team soared at the National
Intercollegiate Flying Association Safety and Flight
Evaluation Conference (SAFECON).
The Lewis team earned 8th place overall,
numerous individual awards and the Loening Trophy,
which is annually awarded to the outstanding all-
around collegiate aviation program in the nation.

The 2013 Loening Trophy will be presented to the Lewis University Department of Aviation at 2 p.m. Sept. 26 in the Harold White Aviation building maintenance hangar on the Lewis University Romeoville main campus. The event is free and open to the public. Representatives of the Future of Flight Aviation Center at the Museum of Flight in Seattle, National Intercollegiate Flying Association and Delta Air Lines will present the award to Lewis University.

The Loening Trophy is a perpetual trophy presented annually to the outstanding, all-around collegiate aviation program in the nation. The award represents superb achievement in aeronautical skills and the current benchmark for an overall outstanding collegiate aviation program. Selection for the award emphasizes academics, community involvement, aviation skills and their advancement, a comprehensive safety program, and professionalism combined with a pro-active enhancement of the future of aviation.

The Loening Trophy is the rarest and oldest of all collegiate aviation awards. The pure silver Tiffany-designed trophy was commissioned and first awarded in 1929 when aviation pioneer and inventor, Dr. Grover Loening saw a need to annually recognize the most outstanding achievements of today’s college aviation programs. Loening, who was the first aeronautical engineer for the Wright Brothers, asked his friends and famous pilots, Charles Lindbergh, Amelia Earhart, and Navy Commander John Towers to assist him in judging the first competition.

The original Loening Trophy is still awarded today and is considered the most prestigious award at the annual National Intercollegiate Flying Association Safety and Flight Evaluation Conference (SAFECON), which is when Lewis University was announced as the recipient of the award. SAFECON brings together teams from 29 colleges and universities from across the country, with more than 300 students participating. The conference fosters competition and promotes teamwork between aviation students, educators and the aviation industry.

Lewis University is a Catholic university in the Lasallian tradition offering distinctive undergraduate and graduate programs to more than 6,500 traditional and adult students. Lewis offers multiple campus locations, online degree programs, and a variety of formats that provide accessibility and convenience to a growing student population. Sponsored by the De La Salle Christian Brothers, Lewis prepares intellectually engaged, ethically grounded, globally connected, and socially responsible graduates. The seventh largest private not-for-profit university in Illinois, Lewis has been nationally recognized by The Princeton Review and U.S. News & World Report. Visit for further information.

Related Links
Alumni    Aviation   

Social Media

Follow Lewis University


Leave a Comment

Comments submitted to are posted to the News and Events article with name that is submitted. Lewis University reserves the right to delete comments. Offensive language, personal attacks or irrelevant comments may be deleted/and or not posted. Comments will not appear immediately. Thank you for your patience.



Security Password (Please type the word ):


To News & Events