Psychology Department honors students

Back to News and Events Home Page

Psychology Department honors students

Published: May 28, 2013.

The Lewis University Psychology Department recently honored several students for excellence in areas of research, service and academics.

Stephanie Tribo of Manhattan earned a Departmental Award for Research. In February, Tribo and Lewis University 2011 alumna Jillian Reiher of Joliet received the Outstanding Student Research Award for their poster presentation at the 20th Annual Midwestern Institute for Students and Teachers of Psychology. Their research study “College Students Intentionally Engage in Harmful Cancer-Risk Behavior: Gender Differences and Effects of Attractiveness Norms on UVB Exposure Behavior and Attitudes” examined the affective components of skin cancer-risk behavior in college students.

Sophia Tsaras earned a Departmental Award for Service. Among her many acts of service was teaming up with fellow Applied Sociology students to host a community 5K walk/run that benefited K-9s for Warriors. The organization provides and trains companion or service animals to help veterans returning to civilian life cope with combat related issues, such as Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder.

Also during the Psychology Department awards ceremony, the Lewis University Chapter of Psi Chi inducted 33 new members into the psychology honor society.

Psi Chi is the International Honor Society in Psychology founded in 1929. It encourages, stimulates, and maintains excellence in scholarship of the individual members in all fields, particularly in psychology, and to advance the science of psychology.

Inducted students include Samantha Agins, Tanya Binfa, Joseph Boyle, Ashley J. Castelo, Jaime A. Castillo, Esmeralda Cordova, Scott Emmel, Melissa L. Farmer, Karen Hild, Elizabeth Japczyk, Amy Karesh, Kyle Kummer, Sarah Leahy, Elizabeth Lorang, Donna Lordi, Magen N. Lutz, Stephanie Macias, Lauren M. Mead, John Michelli, Emiliana Mladic, Alison Owoc, Kayla Pillsbury, Rhonda Richter, Katherine Riemer, Timothy Roberts, Jennifer Shmayel, Kathryn Strait, Nicole Soni, Sarah Stoklasa, Sophia Tsaras, Jacqueline VanMeter, Edward J. Wilkie and Elizabeth Zimmer.

Dr. Chwan-Shyang Jih, professor of psychology, serves as moderator for the Lewis University chapter. Student officers include Atrina Slabich, chapter president, Jennifer Barnas, vice president, Stefanie Holden, secretary, Amy Clawson, treasurer, and Sarah Palya, public relations.

Lewis University is a Catholic university in the Lasallian tradition offering distinctive undergraduate and graduate programs to more than 6,500 traditional and adult students. Lewis offers multiple campus locations, online degree programs, and a variety of formats that provide accessibility and convenience to a growing student population. Sponsored by the De La Salle Christian Brothers, Lewis prepares intellectually engaged, ethically grounded, globally connected, and socially responsible graduates. The seventh largest private not-for-profit university in Illinois, Lewis has been nationally recognized by The Princeton Review and U.S. News & World Report.

Related Links
Alumni    Psychology   

Social Media

Follow Lewis University


Leave a Comment

Comments submitted to are posted to the News and Events article with name that is submitted. Lewis University reserves the right to delete comments. Offensive language, personal attacks or irrelevant comments may be deleted/and or not posted. Comments will not appear immediately. Thank you for your patience.



Security Password (Please type the word ):


To News & Events