Political Science Honor Society earns national award again

Back to News and Events Home Page

Lewis University Political Science Honor Society earns national award again

Published: September 12, 2013.

In Spring 2013, Pi Sigma Alpha sponsored a
political speech contest.

Lewis University Political Science Departmentís Alpha Delta Gamma Chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, the National Political Science Honor Society, received a Best Chapter Award for the second consecutive year. It was the third time the chapter earned the honor in the last four years.

The award is given to chapters that are particularly active in their departments and universities and exhibit high levels of energy and creativity. The Lewis University chapter coordinated various activities, volunteered many hours of service and leadership by organizing three lecture series for Arts & Ideas, sponsored a contest focusing on political speeches and provided other worthwhile initiatives.

In the 2012-2013 academic year, the students of Pi Sigma Alpha sponsored and planned the "Election 2012" and the "Responsible Citizenship" lecture series. The chapter also held a Political Speech Contest.

Last yearís officers were Casey McKenzie, Brandon White, Orla Power, and Molly Szilard. McKenzie, White and Szilard currently are attending graduate schools to earn masterís degrees in Political Science while Power is working in New York City this fall. Before graduating, the officers and seniors also planned the "Global Awareness" lecture series that will be presented on the Lewis campus in Romeoville this semester.

ďIt is affirming that our Lewis University chapter once again has been recognized for its leadership, competence, effectiveness and creativity in being particularly active here on campus,Ē Brother James Gaffney, FSC, President of Lewis University, commented.

The Alpha Delta Gamma chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha is open to juniors and seniors who have completed at least 10 semester hours in political science, with an overall GPA in the upper one-third of their class. Along with the recognition they receive, members have unique opportunities for leadership and development.

Dr. Laurette Liesen, professor and chair of the Political Science Department, is moderator of the Alpha Delta Gamma chapter.

Lewis Universityís Political Science Department offers a broad curriculum that provides students with a deep understanding of government and politics at all levels. The departmentís environment encourages thoughtful intellectual exchange, in which students develop critical thinking skills, develop different points of view and learn the importance of politics, nationally and globally.

Lewis University is a Catholic university in the Lasallian tradition offering distinctive undergraduate and graduate programs to more than 6,500 traditional and adult students. Lewis offers multiple campus locations, online degree programs, and a variety of formats that provide accessibility and convenience to a growing student population. Sponsored by the De La Salle Christian Brothers, Lewis prepares intellectually engaged, ethically grounded, globally connected, and socially responsible graduates. The seventh largest private not-for-profit university in Illinois, Lewis has been nationally recognized by The Princeton Review and U.S. News & World Report. Visit www.lewisu.edu for further information.

Related Links

Social Media

Follow Lewis University


Leave a Comment

Comments submitted to www.Lewisu.edu are posted to the News and Events article with name that is submitted. Lewis University reserves the right to delete comments. Offensive language, personal attacks or irrelevant comments may be deleted/and or not posted. Comments will not appear immediately. Thank you for your patience.



Security Password (Please type the word ):


To News & Events