Lewis University is accredited by, and a member of, the Higher Learning Commission.

The College of Nursing and Health Professions’ basic professional program is approved by the State of Illinois Department of Professional Regulation. The baccalaureate, master's, Doctor of Nursing Practice and post-graduate APRN certificate program at Lewis University are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education. For more information, visit the CCNE.

The College of Business programs are accredited by the Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs.

Department of Aviation programs are approved by the Federal Aviation Administration under Title 14 of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR): Approved Dispatcher Program, Approved Flight School, and Approved Aviation Maintenance Technician School.

Lewis University has voluntarily withdrawn from accreditation by the Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education (CAATE) effective August 31, 2021.  We are no longer accepting students into the undergraduate athletic training program.  Current students who complete their course of study by August 31, 2021 retain their eligibility to sit for the Board of Certification examination.

The Paralegal Studies program is approved by the American Bar Association (ABA).

The Social Work Program has been awarded accreditation by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) Commission on Accreditation.

All teacher education programs are approved for entitlement by the Illinois State Board of Education in conjunction with the Illinois State Educator Preparation and Licensure Board. In addition, the College of Education has earned NCATE (National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education) accreditation. For further information, visit the NCATE Web site at

Inquiries concerning regional accreditation should be directed to the Higher Learning Commission, 230 S. LaSalle St., Suite 7-500, Chicago, Illinois 60604. By phone, (800) 621-7440 or (312) 263-0456.

Lewis University has approval to operate from the New Mexico Higher Education Department.

Documents describing the status of Lewis University with these bodies can be found and reviewed in the Office of the Provost.